The 2019 best Friend Awards were presented last Saturday (24th of August). Seen here (L to R) are Award winners Tony Flude and George Fotheringham (Westgate Biodiversity), Lorraine Ratcliffe (Friends of Maribyrnong Valley) and Joe Van Beek (Friends of Tyers Park).

Marilyn McInnes (Friends of Edwards Point) (Left) and Margaret Hunter (Friends of Braeside Park) received Highly Commended Awards – here with Leesa Riley (Parks Vic Volunteer Coordinator) in the centre, who presented all the Awards.

After the awards, some were able to enjoy a trip on the Yarra with Parks Vic.

Do you know someone who has put in a dedicated 10 years or more “above and beyond” to a special piece of our environment. Maybe they should be proposed for one of these awards. Look out in early 2020 for the next round!