A good crowd of 22 people attended the 2019 Annual General meeting and elected a new and enlarged committee. In opening the meeting Convenor Paul Strickland joked “in a Trumpian manner” that it was one of the best attended such meetings VEFN has ever had.

The meeting adopted the Committee’s Activity report which outlined a very busy year for the volunteers on the committee. You can find the full report here: 2019 Annual Activity report

The Treasuer’s report indicated a solid financial situation, though with the strong caution that as it reflects the situation as at the end of June, substantial funds have been subsequently spent or committed for further workshops. You can find the full report here: 2019 Treasurer’s Report (2)

The Committee election was that undertaken by special guest Terry Hubbard, Deputy President of Landcare Victoia Inc. and the following were elected:

Convenor – Paul Strickland (Friends of Mt Worth State Park)

Deputy convenor – vacant

Secretary – Margaret Hunter (Friends of Braeside Park/Edithvale Seaford Wetlands (FESWI)

Treasurer – Roger Parker (Friends of Mt Worth State Park)

Ordinary Members –

Chanaka Ruwandeniya (First Friends of Dandenong Creek/Effect the Change)

Laura Mumaw (Gardens for Wildlife (Victoria)

Judy Ingram (Friends of Maribyrong Valley Inc)

Andrew Lucas (Friends of Yarra Valley)

Nadine Gaskell (Gardens for Wildlife (Victoria)

Judith Baldacchino (Friends of Edwards Point)

Lap Chieu (First Friends of Dandenong Creek)

Tony Flude (Westgate Biodiversity: Bili Nursery and Landcare Inc)

Anthony Bigelow (First Friends of Dandenong Creek)

The meeting then witnessed the signing of a MOU between Landcare Victoria Inc and VEFN by Paul Strickland and Terry Hubbard, which can be viewed here: LVI VEFN MOU

The meeting then enjoyed the presentation of a number of short films for Friends groups out of the recent “Digital Storytelling” workshops, and others. Kate Forster was particularly thanked for the excellent organisation and presentation of that workshop.